Skip to content

Office chic, styling yourself for work – Part 1

November 15, 2012

Building and maintaining a wardrobe for work is an essential to the astute fashionistas desired outcomes. I suggest a complete wardrobe just for work and have decided to write a how to series on this topic. Whatever your role is I believe there will be some tips here that can help you. I want to keep this series really practical and share tips with you using examples from my own work wardrobe. I practice law at a community legal service so our office is not the high powered corporate environment that some lawyers work in. As a result I have freedom to dress beyond the black suit staple and add my own signature style to ensembles.

Style Guide:  Cream & black creates such a classic vintage look – instant elegance – I have structured an outfit around this gorgeous Cue skirt, I added a Country Road wool knit sweater, classic black pumps and hosiery. My favourite vintage pearls (family heirloom – you will see them alot) finished the look . If you work in an office always wear hosiery – it just looks more professional. In this case I would have worn panythose as the skirt is above the knee and stockings can sneak a peak when you sit in a skirt of this length).

Ensure that your hair is clean and combed (consider having a drawer with brush/comb and a few other essentials at the office), also check your nails are well groomed – trim and clean (ie not covered in chipped polish). Personally I don’t wear alot of make-up (you will probably see that in the photographs) I make it a practice to wear clean zinc sunscreen every single day, a simple foundation with SPF30 goes over the top and a little eye-liner and lip gloss .

Next week I will share about workplace culture, clothing standards and dressing for your role. Feel free to comment and ask questions or post ideas. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Style Guide:  It gets pretty cool of a morning or evening here in Ipswich so my tailored cream coat, scarf (not seen) and black suede gloves were perfect with this outfit. The coat is also a fabulous length just past them hem of the skirt.

Did you know that we offer wardrobe consultations, colour analysis,  personal styling and lifestyle transformation packages incorporating fashion, beauty, health, nutrition, personal development and finance. Contact boutiquetreschic@gmail.com to find out more about our Miss Très Chic 30 Day Mini-Makeovers or the complete lifestyle package Miss Très Chic 12 Week Transformation.

From → Style

3 Comments
  1. Kaz permalink

    Nice nice nice – I am attacking my wardrobe tomorrow

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Office chic, styling yourself for work – Part 4 «
  2. Summer’s sunset |

Leave a Reply

