Skip to content

Wishing you….

December 17, 2012

tree

One of the things I love about this season is hearing the traditions that different families partake of. A friend of mine and her husband who celebrated their first anniversary this year, shared one the traditions passed on by her mother that they now embrace. My dad always cut us a fresh tree at Christmas and it has evidently been passed on to me because I won’t have a faux tree. Of course, being the thoughtful wife I am, each year I dutifully delegate the responsibility to the hunter/gatherer of the household and patiently wait for said tree to arrive (that plus the fact that I am pretty much a lost cause with an axe). In the meantime I prepare the decorations and write Christmas cards. I found a lovely box full of vintage baubles on Saturday but still no tree in sight. A lovely afternoon picnic led to success when a little tree was spotted on the way home. A little late this year and somewhat unconventional, but it has given visiting family a giggle and as they say variety is the spice of life.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

