Skip to content

Fitness Log week beginning March 4, 2013

March 4, 2013

With all the rain over the weekend there wasn’t much to do other than curl up with a good book and a cuppa and relax and with quite a full schedule last week, it was just what I needed to recover. By Sunday evening I was feeling very refreshed and re-energised – ready to sit down and plan my week. Every Sunday evening I take some time in a quiet space to reflect on the week past and the one ahead and write out on my planner the things I want to achieve in each area that is important to me. I find I am able to have a really successful week in terms of accomplishing my goals if I write them down and visualise them and the week in advance!

Journal-writing-ideas

Monday 4 March, 2013

Training

am: I don’t have alot of time before RPM on Monday mornings which kicks off at 5:45am and last week I wasn’t able to get through all my back work so this week I planned to do some bicep work done before class. I double checked my previous weight last night and jotted down some notes on a yellow stick-it note that I could take with me and ensure I maintain or build on last week’s levels.

Bicep dumbbell curls using the 4 set technique (12-10-8-12)  weights 6-7-8-6. Barbell curls – 12.5-14-17.5. Core: 3 x 10 reps on hanging vertical bench (engages biceps and shoulders).

RPM (45 minutes).

200498419-001

pm: Boxing class (45 minutes) followed by Stretch Therapy (1 hour) @ the Old Flour Mill – wow after tonight’s double work out I was feeling so relaxed, looking forward to a delicious sleep tonight.

Nutrition

am: Purified rainwater 1L, green tea (3 cups), 2 pears, 2 nectarine. Latte.

pm: Romaine wraps filled with smoked salmon, cucumber, asparagus, carrot and alfalfa. Purified rainwater 1L. Homemade veggie soup (pumpkin, carrot, red onion, leek, garlic, brocoli & courgette) with fresh ginger grated on top.

romaine wraps

Tuesday 5 March, 2013

It truly is one of life’s simple pleasures the first night in a freshly made bed with beautiful soft Egyptian cotton sheets and even more so when you’re body is really relaxed after some physical exertion during the day. Miraculously I caught that warm window of sunshine yesterday afternoon and was able to launder and dry sheets and towels – so domestic duties were added to yesterday’s workout. If you ever have trouble sleeping, you now know my remedy!

Training

deadlifts2

am: My gym pal went to do stroke correction today so I was flying solo this morning. Only hit snooze a couple of times before getting up and heading off to the gym. I never regret getting up and going but if I do succumb to more doona time (yes it has happened!) I feel lethargic and my day just doesn’t go as well. Hamstrings were up first: Lying leg curls on pin #2 (3 x 12 reps with 20 sec rest in between) to warm up; straight leg deadlifts with dumbbells – I upped the weight this week (20-25-30), lunges (16-18-20-16) using the 4 set reducing rep technique (12-10-8-12). Chest  using the 4 set technique (12-10-8-12): dumbbell chest press on inclined bench (8 – 9 – 10 – 8), Dumbbell fly (4 – 5 – 6 – 4), assisted chest dips on the machine (pin#’s 9-8-7-9),  push ups (3 x 12 reps with 30 sec rest in between).  Core: 3kg medicine ball twists. Stretching 5 minutes hamstrings, back and neck. I enjoyed a relaxing session in the steam room after my workout followed by nice warm shower. The perfect way to begin a day!

steamBoxing class (1 hour) [heaps of burpees and push-ups in tonight’s drills] back to back with Balance class (1 hour). After chest work this morning my arms are cooked!

Nutrition

am: Purified rainwater 1L, green tea (2 cups), 2 pears, 1 nectarine. Just before noon – sauté veggies (courgette, red onion, asparagus, cabbage and enoki shrooms) with lightly steamed broccoli and omelette – eggs fresh from the chooks.

enoki

pm: Lapsang souchang and spekulatius served in the garden when a friend popped in for afternoon tea just after 3pm. Miss M is studying to be a doctor and is on her own health journey as well having just made a commitment to the vegetarian lifestyle. This is her  second year of study and she hopes to bring more balance to her lifestyle incorporating time out for herself. We enjoyed the lush green surrounds with the chooks scratching about for worms and a robust discussion about wellness, preventative health practices, physiology and metabolic biochemistry.

Homemade veggie soup (pumpkin, carrot, red onion, leek, garlic, brocoli & courgette) with fresh ginger grated on top. 1 fresh tomato with freshly ground salt n pepper.

tea

Wednesday 6 March, 2013

I saw this excellent quote this morning and thought I would share it. You might know someone who is struggling to trim down or maybe that is you at the moment. At the end of the day there are countless different types of programs you can sign up for but often all they are selling is hope. It is my honest belief that personal discipline and self-motivation are the keys to success and you cannot buy them – they most be forged within through practice and the forming of good habits. The battle is in your mind – it begins and ends there both in terms of your fitness and training; and the quality and quantity of food you choose to fuel your body with.

slogan

Training

am: Shoulders using descending 4 set rep technique – seated shoulder press (2-3-4-2), single arm cling and jerk (8-9-10-8), full range barbell cling and jerk (15-17.5-20-15). Triceps:  tricep dips from bench with feet up on box (3  x 12 reps) I increased the reps by two this week,  tricep extensions (2-3-4-2), lying tricep curl with 10kg barbell (12 reps on 10kg, 10 reps on 12.5kg), barbell press from chest with 10kg barbell (12 reps on 10kg, 10 reps on 12.5kg) this exercise is similar to tricep push-ups which I shall add in next week in lieu of these for a harder workout. Core: 3 x 1 minute hovers (front and sides).

lying tricep curl

Nutrition

am: Purified rainwater 1L, green tea (1 cup), 1 papaya, 1 nectarine.

pm: Baby spinach, asparagus, tomato, cucumber and tuna in springwater with freshly cracked black pepper. I’m working late this evening so I had two lunches today – my second was an olive and feta tart from Urban Pantry on my date with new friend and fellow fashionista Maree (whom I met last week at the classical concert). The perfect spot for the health conscious to stop for breakfast, lunch or anytime in between – the ladies at Urban Pantry serve up delicious, freshly made vegetarian and vegan food, fantastic coffee and everything comes with a warm smile!

UrbanHomemade veggie soup (pumpkin, carrot, red onion, leek, garlic, brocoli & courgette) with fresh ginger grated on top. 1 fresh tomato with freshly ground salt n pepper. Veggie bake (1 slice).

Thursday 7 March, 2013

Training

Quads and back were on today’s agenda and I can tell you two big muscle groups when you are feeling tired toward the end of the week can be overwhelming. I just decided to take one set at a time, mix it up a little by going back and forth between the groups and see how we go!

am: 5 min power walk @ 6km on 10% grade. Lower back – lifted raises bearing extra weight (5- 7.5 – 10 -5), Quads – warmed up with leg extensions (pin # 4 – 5 – 6 – 4) followed by seated leg press (pin # 9-10-11-9). Dumbbell flys lying on incline bench – 3 kg weights (3 x 12 reps), dumbbell row (see picture) (8-9-10-8), lateral pulls (pin # 3, 3 +1, 3+2). Core: front hover (1 minute) side hovers (1 minute each side) – I’ve been doing a little core work each day and finally…..Deadlifts (40-50-60-40) I had left these until the end and almost didn’t push through but found some mojo and did it! These are heart pumpers girls – you have to give them a try!

back dumbbell pullpm: rest.

Nutrition

am: Purified rainwater 1L, green tea (1 cup), 1/2 large papaya. I was hungry again at 10:30am so I had my lunch early today – baby spinach, asparagus, tomato, cucumber and tuna in springwater with freshly cracked black pepper.

pm: Banana, dried figs (6). Feta & sundried tomatoes on wholewheat crackers (I don’t usually eat wheat products but I was so hungry today and raided a colleagues stash!) Homemade veggie soup (pumpkin, carrot, red onion, leek, garlic, brocoli & courgette) with fresh ginger grated on top. 1 fresh tomato with freshly ground salt n pepper.

Friday 8 March, 2013

Training

A friend and I have been swimming on Friday as some of you might know @ Bundamba. Last week we began stoke correction with Neville and despite sporting our fashion swimwear rather than speedos we still seem to be improving lap by lap!

pink vintage bathing suit

am: Swim session @ Bundamba (45 minutes) Neville was trying to get me to do backstroke but I really don’t think it’s my cup of tea – water in my face and mouth and I keep running into the wall or lane rope. I did a deal with him and told I’d do butterfly instead so we added that one to my repertoire today. The fly really packs a punch to the heart rate – wow! I am still working on the technique so Alicia Coutts doesn’t have to get too worried yet!

pm: rest

Nutrition

am: Purified rainwater 1L, green tea (2 cups), 1/2 large papaya, 1 pear, 1 kiwi. Homemade veggie soup (pumpkin, carrot, red onion, leek, garlic, brocoli & courgette) with fresh ginger grated on top. 1 fresh tomato with freshly ground salt n pepper.

pm: roast chicken and steamed brocoli.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

