Skip to content

The Arts and more….

March 21, 2013

I’ve been reconnecting with my love of Russian classics and fashion of late in the arms of Anna Karenina. I read nothing but Russian literature for two months whilst travelling in Kazahkstan and Ukraine some years ago. With the re-release of the Tolstoy classic on film (featuring Keira Knightley) we are also seeing Russian inspired fashion on the runways.

anna

Inspired by ‘Anna’ I’m dreaming up something sumptuous for this year’s outfit for Opera in the Vineyards. I’m seeing my rabbit fur hat, long gloves and my sumptuous Kazahk pashmina as definates for the ensemble….

slav

slav2

If you haven’t yet been to Opera in the Vineyards at Ballandean Estate, be sure to treat yourself at least once (and do let me know if you will be there this year so we can say hello!) It’s a sumptuous black tie affair run by the Rotary community of Stanthorpe to help country folk with accommodation when they need to travel to Brisbane for medical treatment. Nestled in the raw beauty of the granite belt, music, high fashion, food and good wine erupt together  in a decadent crescendo at sunset to enrapture the senses.

Opera in the Vineyard

We’re staying at our family’s converted vintage boulangerie in Amiens for the weekend. I love spending time out there and always come home feeling so refreshed. I’m especially looking forward to this year as we will have the company of my dear, school friend and her man whom we’ve not yet had the pleasure of meeting. They relocated from the Blue Mountains to the Sunshine Coast about a year ago and now that they are settled in and acclimatized we have a few moments to catch up. I’m sure they will feel right at home in the crisp mountain air and with our beautiful parents who are the warmest of hosts I know.

31697-la-boulangerie

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

